Legislative Youth Council gives young people a voice at State House

Sixteen Maine youths met with lawmakers in Augusta on Wednesday to suggest recommendations on policy issues that apply directly to their age group.

The Legislative Youth Advisory Council is made up of two House members, two senators and 16 youths appointed by the Speaker of the House and the Senate President who have reached the age of 15 and are enrolled in a secondary education program.

The group would scheduled to meet at 12:30 p.m. on Wednesday at the State House to discuss a wide range of issues. The goal was to submit a report to the full Legislature that could include possible legislation.

Reps. Alexander Willette, R-Mapleton, and Louis Luchini, D-Ellsworth and Sens. Garrett Mason, R-Lisbon Falls, and Nancy Sullivan, D-Biddeford, will facilitate the discussion.

The youth participants are: Tyler Beardsley of Surry, Rami Blair of Bangor, Scott Espling of New Gloucester, Morgan Fredette of Newport, Jennifer Newendyke of Litchfield, Jason Seavey of Baileyville, Sophia Tremblay of Acton, Mikeckney Ward of Oxford, Stephen Carr of York, Leah Caverly of Clinton, Jeff Dyke of Raymond, Samuel Duenas of Cherryfield, Dillon Pesce of Lisbon Falls, Olivia Plowman of Hampden, Zahra Rikan of Biddeford, Sarah Stanley of Springvale.

About a quarter of those youths share last names with current Republican lawmakers.