LePage earns ‘F’ from Maine AFL-CIO in annual scorecard

Gov. Paul LePage. BDN photo by Troy Bennett.

I know, I know, stop me if you’ve heard this one before.

In its annual legislative scorecard, the Maine AFL-CIO gave Republican Gov. Paul LePage a big fat zero. He joined just four lawmakers — all Republicans — whose votes opposed the group’s positions at each turn.

The Maine AFL-CIO represents more than 160 local unions in the state. The group graded each Maine lawmaker, and the governor, on how they voted on 11 bills.

These included efforts the unions supported, such as bills to expand Medicaid and increase the minimum wage; and ones they opposed , such as a so-called “right-to-work” bills that would prevent unions from collecting dues from all the beneficiaries of their contracts. For the full list, check out the scorecard.

Joining LePage with a zero score were Sen. Andre Cushing of Hampden and Reps. Eleanor Espling of New Gloucester, Stacey Guerin of Glenburn and Michael McClellan of Raymond.

LePage and his cohorts will not be mourning their low scores from organized labor. If anything, being seen as opposing labor interests will help these conservatives with voters back home. Scorecards, after all, are more about the scorekeeper rallying its troops than influencing legislators to vote differently.

The labor group also commended two Republicans, Rep. Corey Wilson of Augusta and Sen. Thomas Saviello, who scored 55 percent and 45 percent, respectively.

Wilson voted against both “right-to-work” bills and was the only House Republican to vote with the group a majority of times. Saviello had the highest score among Senate Republicans.

Every Democrat received passing grades except two lawmakers who were absent for many of the votes due to health concerns. The lowest scores outside those two were Reps. Henry Beck of Waterville and Terry Hayes of Buckfield, who each earned a 73 percent. 

Mario Moretto

About Mario Moretto

Mario Moretto has been a Maine journalist, in print and online publications, since 2009. He joined the Bangor Daily News in 2012, first as a general assignment reporter in his native Hancock County and, now, in the State House. Mario left the BDN in 2015.